Sia Makes History at APRA Music Awards


Sia made history on Tuesday night by winning songwriter of the year, the top honor at the APRA Music Awards, for the third successive time. “This is an unprecedented, and very likely, a never-to-be-repeated achievement by one of our most talented songwriters,” comments APRA CEO Brett Cottle.

It’s an effort not even Daniel Johns can’t match. The former Silverchair frontman jointly won songwriter of the year in 1995, 1998 and 2000 and earned it on his own in 2003 and 2008. Johns opened this year’s proceedings with a performance of his new solo song, “Preach”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *